Dr. Martina Greib

Dr. Martina Greib holds a degree in agricultural engineering and a doctorate in agricultural economics. Since autumn 2015 she has been managing various projects and programmes of national and international climate policy at Arepo.

Ms Greib has 20 years of experience in planning, implementing and evaluating climate change adaptation projects in Germany, Europe, developing and emerging countries. Her focus is on projects in the field of biodiversity, ecosystem services and Ecosystem-based Adaptation (EbA). Due to her long-term assignments for GIZ, EU and World Bank in Latin America, Africa and Asia, she can draw from a extensive practical experience in the implementation and evaluation of projects in the field of Nature-based Solutions (NbS). NbS projects contribute to sustainable development not only by aiming at combining climate protection and nature conservation but also at achieving a high quality of life for all people, including disadvantaged or marginalized groups.

In her current position as senior consultant at Arepo, she was involved in the evaluation of numerous thematic and country-specific programme outlines for the International Climate Initiative (IKI) of the Federal Ministry for the Environment (BMU). She also advised the BMU on the further development of IKI funding priorities in topics such as The Bonn Challenge/Forest Landscape Restoration, EbA, Water-Energy Nexus and biodiversity conservation.

Ms Greib carries out numerous evaluations for Arepo for extensive programmes and projects of UNEP, UNDP, GIZ, World Bank and international NGOs such as The Nature Conservancy or IUCN.

Another focus of her work is the aspect of transformation. Ms Greib has been accompanying the structural transition of municipal actors in Germany for many years. From 2010 to 2012 she was managing director of Energieregion Lausitz-Spreewald GmbH and was committed to the interests of districts, towns and municipalities in a just transition from a fossil to a CO2-neutralregion. From 2012 to 2015, Martina Greib led network projects in the border region between Germany and Poland with the participation of citizens and actors from society, business and science. Her work focused on the German-Polish Euroregions, on which she also wrote her doctoral thesis.

Related Projects

All Projects by Dr. Martina Greib

Latest Publications

All Publications by Dr. Martina Greib

Dr. Martina Greib

Dr. Martina Greib ist Diplom-Agraringenieurin und promovierte Agrarökonomin und leitet seit Herbst 2015 verschiedenste Projekte und Programme der nationalen und internationalen Klimapolitik bei Arepo.

Frau Greib verfügt über 20 Jahre Erfahrung in der Planung, Implementierung und Evaluierung von Klima-Anpassungsprojekten in Deutschland, Europa und Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. Ihre Schwerpunkte liegen auf Vorhaben im Bereich von Biodiversität, Ökosystemdienstleistungen und ökosystem-basierter Anpassung (Ecosystem-based Adaptation, EbA). Durch ihre umfangreichen Auslandsaufenthalte für die GIZ, EU und Weltbank in Lateinamerika, Afrika und Asien bringt sie viel praktische Erfahrung in der Umsetzung und Evaluierung von Projekten im Bereich von Nature-based Solutions (NbS) mit. NbS-Projekte stehen im Zeichen einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung und haben zum Ziel, nicht nur Klima- und Naturschutz zu vereinen, sondern auch eine hohe Lebensqualität für alle Menschen, inklusive der benachteiligten Bevölkerungsgruppen, zu erzielen.

In ihrer derzeitigen Position als Seniorberaterin bei Arepo war sie an der Evaluierung zahlreicher thematischer sowie länderspezifischer Programmskizzen für die Internationale Klimaschutzinitiative (IKI) des Bundesumweltministeriums (BMU) beteiligt. Auch beriet sie das BMU bei der Weiterentwicklung von Förderschwerpunkten der IKI in Themen wie The Bonn Challenge/Forest Landscape Restoration, EbA, Water-Energy Nexus und Biodiversitätsschutz.

Frau Greib führt für Arepo zahlreiche Evaluierungen für umfangreiche Programme und Projekte von UNEP, UNDP, GIZ, Weltbank sowie internationale NGOs wie The Nature Conservancy oder IUCN durch.

Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ihrer Tätigkeit liegt auf dem Aspekt der Transformation. Frau Greib begleitet seit vielen Jahren den Strukturwandelprozess von kommunalen Akteuren in Deutschland. Von 2010 bis 2012 war sie Geschäftsführerin der Energieregion Lausitz-Spreewald GmbH und engagierte sich für die Belange von Landkreisen, Städten und Gemeinden bei einem gerechten Übergang (Just Transition) von einer fossilen zu einer CO2-neutralen Region. In den Jahren von 2012 bis 2015 leitete Martina Greib Netzwerkprojekte im Grenzgebiet zwischen Deutschland und Polen unter der Beteiligung von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern, sowie Akteuren aus Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Ein Schwerpunkt ihrer Tätigkeit waren hier die deutsch-polnischen Euroregionen, über die sie auch promovierte.

Zugehörige Projekte

Alle Projekte von Dr. Martina Greib

Neueste Publikationen

Alle Publikationen von Dr. Martina Greib