Kim Kohlmeyer

Kim Johanna B. Kohlmeyer is a fully qualified lawyer and political scientist. At Arepo, she leads the evaluation of the Berlin Energy and Climate Protection Programme (Berliner Energie und Klimaschutzprogramm, BEK), and supports various projects regarding legal issues.

She was one of the authors of a study that identified 10 levers to achieve climate neutrality in the areas of energy and transport by 2035. In a project for the Hessian Ministry for the Environment that aimed to advance the development of the Integrated Climate Protection Plan for the state of Hesse, she was responsible for supporting the calculation of sectoral targets as well as the identification of legal options for the state and the resulting set of instruments.

After her training at the “Normative Orders” Cluster of Excellence and at the law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, she dedicated herself to the energy and transport transition. As a lawyer, she advised on renewable energy legislation – in particular the German Renewable Energy Law (Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz, EEG) and electricity tax law. In addition, she worked on various projects drafting legislation in the field of climate legislation. She gained experience in climate policy consulting at the NGO GermanZero e.V., among others, where she worked on legal and political issues for the development of a comprehensive climate law for Germany with concrete implementation possibilities.

With her company noord transport, she advocates for climate-neutral urban logistics by shifting the last mile to cargo bikes and implementing a hub system in Kiel. In her spare time, the extreme and former professional athlete is committed to shifting the public perception of the bicycle as a means of transport and its possibilities.

Related Projects

Kim Kohlmeyer

Kim Johanna B. Kohlmeyer ist Volljuristin und Diplom Politikwissenschaftlerin und leitet bei Arepo u.a. das Projekt zur Evaluierung des Berliner Energie und Klimaschutzprogramms (BEK). Darüber hinaus unterstützt sie verschiedene Projekte mit Blick auf juristische Fragestellungen.

Sie arbeitete bei der Erstellung der Studie „Klimaneutral leben – 10 Stellschrauben in Energie und Mobilität“ mit, in der konkrete Maßnahmen auf politischer Ebene für eine klimaneutrale Realität des Individuums in 2035 identifiziert und analysiert wurden. Im Projekt im Auftrag des Hessischen Umweltministeriums zur Erstellung von Kurzstudien zur Weiterentwicklung des Integrierten Klimaschutzplans Hessen 2025 ist sie neben der Unterstützung der Berechnung der Sektorziele verantwortlich für die Identifikation von rechtlichen Möglichkeiten des Landes sowie des daraus resultierenden Instrumentenstraußes.

Nach ihrer Ausbildung an dem Exzellenzcluster „Normative Ordnungen“ und in der Großkanzlei Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer widmete sie sich der Energie- und Verkehrswende. Sie beriet als Anwältin im Erneuerbare Energien Recht – insbesondere dem Erneuerbare-Energien-Gesetz (EEG) – und Stromsteuerrecht. Zusätzlich arbeitete sie in verschiedenen Projekten zur Gesetzeserarbeitung im Bereich des Klimarechts mit. Erfahrung in der klimapolitischen Politikberatung sammelte sie unter anderem bei GermanZero e.V., wo sie rechtliche und politische Fragen zur Erarbeitung eines umfassenden Klimagesetzes für Deutschland mit konkreten inhaltlichen Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten bearbeitete.

Mit ihrem Unternehmen noord transport setzt sie sich für eine klimaneutrale urbane Logistik durch die Verlagerung der letzten Meile auf Lastenräder und der Umsetzung eines Hub-Systems in Kiel ein. In ihrer Freizeit setzt die Extrem- und ehemalige Leistungssportlerin sich dafür ein, die öffentliche Perzeption des Rades als Fortbewegungsmittel und dessen Möglichkeiten zu verschieben.

Zugehörige Projekte