Arne Hennig

In his work and research activities, Arne Hennig focusses on climate adaptation and governance issues. At Arepo, he is currently involved in the project “Strategic Evaluation of the International Climate Initiative (IKI) – Catalytic Role of the IKI” and in central project evaluations of GIZ projects.

Prior to joining Arepo, Arne Hennig conducted research on climate change adaptation in Small Island Developing States (SIDS) as a research assistant at the Institute of Geography at the University of Hamburg from 2016 to 2020. In an interdisciplinary research project, he analyzed the implementation options of alternative adaptation strategies, such as ecosystem-based adaptation (EbA) measures, on the coasts of the Maldives and Papua New Guinea. He successfully defended his dissertation entitled “Enablers and Barriers to Local Adaptive Capacity – A Case Study on Coastal Governance in the Maldives” in February 2021, through which he has been able to gain in-depth insights into the governance of adaptation measures and in the field of climate policy. 

As part of his PhD, Arne Hennig completed the graduate school “School of Integrated Climate System Science” at the Center for Earth System Research and Sustainability at the University of Hamburg. He already focused on South and Southeast Asia during his geography master studies (M.Sc.) at the University of Cologne with field research stays in Indonesia and Myanmar. As part of his work as a student assistant in a research project, he completed his master’s thesis on disaster management and the potential of innovative technologies in Jakarta/Indonesia. As a student assistant, he gained experience in evaluation at the German Institute for Development Evaluation (DEval).

Related Projects

Arne Hennig

Arne Hennigs Forschungs- und Arbeitsschwerpunkte liegen in den Bereichen Klimaanpassung und Governance. Bei Arepo ist er aktuell im Projekt „Strategische Evaluation für die Internationale Klimaschutzinitiative (IKI) – Katalytische Rolle der IKI“ tätig. Zusätzlich ist er an zentralen Projektevaluierungen von Projekten der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) beteiligt.

Vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Arepo forschte Arne Hennig von 2016 bis 2020 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Geographie der Universität Hamburg zu Anpassung an den Klimawandel in kleinen Inselentwicklungsstaaten (Small Island Developing States, SIDS). In einem interdisziplinären Forschungsprojekt analysierte er die Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten von alternativen Anpassungsstrategien, unter anderem ökosystembasierten Anpassungsmaßnahmen (EbA), an den Küsten der Malediven und von Papua-Neuguinea. Seine Dissertation mit dem Titel „Enablers and Barriers to Local Adaptive Capacity – A Case Study on Coastal Governance in the Maldives“ verteidigte er erfolgreich im Februar 2021. Durch diese Tätigkeit erlangte er tiefgehende Einblicke in die Steuerung und Umsetzung von Klimaanpassungsmaßnahmen und im Bereich der Klimapolitik. 

Im Rahmen seiner Promotion absolvierte Arne Hennig die Graduiertenschule „School of Integrated Climate System Science“ am Centrum für Erdsystemforschung und Nachhaltigkeit der Universität Hamburg. Den regionalen Schwerpunkt auf Süd- und Südostasien legte er bereits im Geographie-Masterstudium (M.Sc.) an der Universität zu Köln mit Feldforschungsaufenthalten in Indonesien und Myanmar. Im Rahmen seiner Tätigkeit als studentische Hilfskraft in einem Forschungsprojekt fertigte er seine Masterarbeit zum Potential von innovativen Technologien im Katastrophenmanagement in Jakarta/Indonesien an. Des Weiteren sammelte er Erfahrung in der Evaluierung als studentische Hilfskraft am Deutschen Evaluierungsinstitut der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (DEval).